Showing posts with label i'm feeling random. Show all posts
Showing posts with label i'm feeling random. Show all posts

Monday, January 17, 2011

chaps 'n hats...

This is a trilby hat (apparently.).

main photo

And I must say, Nic looks unbearably adorable (and sexy) in one of these hats.
Though, thinking about it, I'd almost need some sort of 20's Glamour dress for the 'theme' to work, but whatever, I don't care. Oh. I was meant to preface this with:
Nic may will be wearing one of these hats to our wedding.

The kitten woke me up at 5.30am this morning. And my elbow joints ache from the pump class I did friday night (wtf?). Most of the rest of me is feeling better, although I got on the scales this morning and that particularly depressing. That being said, the kitten (who weighed 1.3kg a week ago) also got on the scales, and it said she weighed 3.5kg, so I can probably subtract 2kg from her weight, and therefore, from my weight. Our scales lie. Which is somewhat inconvenient. Regardless, I'd quite like to loose about 9kg at some point. Or not even. Because weight is a tricky thing, what with muscles being heavy and so on. So, I shall revise that to: "I'd quite like to fit into the jeans I bought in Paris", as that was the lightest I've ever been. And I love those jeans.
So elbow pain or no, I'm going for a run this afternoon.
Wait, that doesn't make any sense.
The kitten's constant disruption of my sleep is really messing with me (and Nic).
The problem is that she's so fricken adorable. I mean, who wouldn't want to be woken up by a purring, soft, head-bumping love machine of joy and adorability?
Which is fine, until she settles in on my chest, across my face. Causing me to twist my head to an awkward angle so I can breathe without sucking in mouthfuls of fur and getting it up my nose. Since I'm especially comfortable, she shows her gratitude by kneading my windpipe.
With claws.
Which, at first, is ok. Her claws are trimmed. But after a while, the pad-pad-pad-pad of soft and clawy, turns into rasp-rasp-grate-grate-bleeding.
It feels like that anyway.
BUT SHE'S NOT COMFORTABLE! So she tries a different tactic, and goes under the covers.
Where her tail tickles my stomach. And that's not comfortable either so she comes back up. I'm doing my best not to move, because that will start the whole process again. My arms are usually in some ridiculous pretzel up near my head, and she decides that this=kitten basket, and curls her way into the pretzel, cutting off the circulation to my hands. The purring, louder than any cat I've ever known, continues on. And I've been on one side for long enough now that I'm uncomfortable.
She begins to drift off, eyes closing lazily, purr fading a little.
I try not to think of how uncomfortable I am. How much I hate my bodyparts being numb. How my legs feel crooked, and my back is twisted, which probably isn't good for my spine, and oh my god what if I'm giving myself body issues and a bad back because of this damn kitten.
And she's asleep now, a warming ball of downy fluff, little kitten smile on her kitteny face. Which is adorable, but my hands are in agony, my arms are pretzels, my feet feel weird, and my back is twisted dangerously, I'm sure of it.
So, I try and roll over, to the other side.
The purr starts up again!!!
And so the cycle begins anew.

The point of all that, which I seemed to have missed, is that I'm feeling particularly fuzzy in the head, dead tired, and not able to concentrate too well. Plus my elbows are sore. Which is just me complaining. But really, who gets sore elbows? You go to the gym to work out your shoulders, but they're really the only 'joints' you try and beef up. Nobody says:
"Hey Joe, check out my beefing elbows! They're totally ripped."
"They've got nothing on my ankles. Look at these bad boys..."

It's time for a nap. Will they give me sick pay because I had to go home tired??

Friday, January 14, 2011

here I am with nothing to say...

I asked Nic for some ideas for blog posts this morning and he wasn't particularly helpful.

I've just recently become addicted to Hyperbole and a Half, which is a little unfortunate since there haven't been any updates in a while, but considering it makes me laugh to the point of having to stop reading while I'm at work, I figure it's worth the wait. Seriously, I'd read, and have to change the page so I stopped laughing unless people walked past and thought I was a weirdo for having a giggle-session at work.
That being said, the blog is so brilliant that it makes me feel like mine is a pile of piss. Or mud. Or something equally insignificant and unpleasant.
Well, not unpleasant, that's a little unfair.
But, well, unimportant.
Which it is. (Oh, woe is me, boo hoo).

But I can't be anything other than myself, and if myself involves talking about vague wedding plans in the future, or bitching about my mother, or telling lame stories about Nic, then so be it. But maybe I need more about our cooking (like the super-fricken-fantastic nut/granola bars that we made last week that I SHOULD post about because I couldn't find any recipes I liked when I googled 'nut bars' so I just threw a whole lot of crap together, and now have to restrain myself from gorging myself on them because OMFG they're so good but made out of nuts and seeds so super calorie-heavy, but in an awesomely kick-your-ass-store-bought-granola-bar kind of way)...

AND I should post more about our garden because we're soon to be inundated with a bazillion mini tomatoes, but I still can't grow anything in the garden bed from seeds. WTF is wrong with me there? Plus we've been eating a tasy, tasy raspberry every other day and omg it's amazing and nothing from the supermarket will ever compare.

And when I'm back at Uni you can hear about that. And about education (oh boring), and maybe a bit about getting fit again. Maybe I'll make that part interesting and enter some sort of competition and have to train. Oh, trials and tribulations ahead!

But it'll still just be a blog about me. And my family, pets included. I suppose that's all I can do! And since I've drawn a wedding dress that I like, I don't feel the need to look at them at the moment (BIG STEP! Even when I found ones I liked I'd keep looking, but I feel "at peace" with my current design)...so I won't talk about that. As we get closer to the actual date though, I'm sure more drama will come up.

I based my drawing on this dress from Etsy seller yourfairytalewedding
Short and Sweet Chiffon Bridal Gown (Full Length Variation)Short and Sweet Chiffon Bridal Gown (Full Length Variation)


And when I say I 'based it' on this dress, I mean, I like the softness of the ruching on the bodice, but want to change the bodice. I added some embroidery, and also like how the skirt falls straight down, and how it falls, but would have a dropped waist, and get rid of that white ribbon. So there are very small aspects of that dress that I like (ie, I'm not ripping it off), but it's the closest I've found to my 'vision'.

Friday, January 7, 2011

my brain is fried..

So, I had a neat idea for a post.
It wasn't too long. Or deep... it was just interesting.
And then I was going to prattle on about how maybe I needed more pictures so people would stick around, but now I've forgotten what it was.
Apart from the pictures bit, I remembered that.
But the actual 'important' bit, I can't remember.

Oh! Aside from the fact that I told 2 girlfriends from Uni last night that I was thinking of having our wedding at a school camp and we could all go canoeing, and hiking, and on ropes  courses, and their faces were of concealed ... horrified...ness... Horrific..ness? horrifiedal... I don't know. Maybe that word doesn't exist. Anyway. They were trying to look like they thought it was an ok idea, however they did warm to the idea when I told them they could sit on the banks of the river and drink wine while I canoed (preferably, according to them, in my wedding dress).

And now, since I think my blog might be too 'wordy' for people to stick around, here are some pictures of animals doing awesome things.
They are from cuteoverload.

big orange hovercat

Maybe I should sprinkle some text in here so it looks like I'm discussing the awesome merits of these animals. But, I mean, that cat is pretty cool.  I wonder if somebody photoshopped his feet and legs out. DAMN! Now I think I ruined it for myself.


 Cute Panda Experiencing Happy Tours  Booking...
A panda walks into a restaurant, sits down, and orders a sandwich. He eats the sandwich, pulls out a gun, and shoots the waiter dead. As the panda stands up to go, the manager shouts, “Hey! Where are you going? You just shot my waiter, and you didn’t even pay for your sandwich!”
“Hey, man, I’m a PANDA!” the panda shouts back. “Look it up!”
The manager opens his dictionary and reads:
Panda: A tree-dwelling marsupial of Asian origin, characterized by distinct black and white coloring. Eats shoots and leaves.

And I think I'm done for now. This project is going downhill, fast. I need some followers. ;)